RSC XII Chairperson Arturo G. Valero (center) in photo op with the nominees for the 2016 SOV present during the Executive Level Meeting on 27 September 2016. From left to right (Front row): Mr. Marcelo Gusanan (Adult); Ms. Leamor B. Bañaga (representing Dolefil); CSC XII ARD Venus D. Ondoy; and Ms. Ella Duterte Pobre (representing AMPC). (Second row): Ms. Mercelita Q. Camiring (representing AMPC); Ms. Meriam Pangnaduyon-Booc (Adult); Ms. Clarissa A. Pana (representing the KidCERU together with Mr. Noefel A. Manginubong and Mr. Gabriel A. Paderna at the back row); (Third row): Mr. Eustaquio dela Cruz, Jr. and Mr. Norlan A. Yap (representing the Yellow Bus Line); Mr. Algem Cris B. Crusis (Youth); and Mr. Gerry Jesus J. Villano (Adult). Absent: Mr. Jonalier M. Perez (Adult).

The Regional Search Committee (RSC) XII of the 2016 Search for Outstanding Volunteer (SOV) conducted an executive level meeting on 27 September 2016 at Fred Ann’s Food Haus in Koronadal City to firm up the roster of nominees for the 2016 SOV.   

For this year’s search, Acting RDC XII Chairperson Arturo G. Valero, concurrent Chairperson of the RSC XII, proudly announced that a total of 10 qualified nominees, composed of one (1) youth and five (5) adults for the Individual Category, as well as two (2) corporate and two (2) non-profit for the Organization/Group Category, will be forwarded to the National Search Committee (NSC) for their consideration and appropriate action.  The nominees for the Individual Category are Algem Cris B. Crusis (Youth); Ella Duterte Pobre (Adult); Jonalier M. Perez (Adult); Meriam Panganduyon-Booc (Adult); Gerry Jesus J. Villano (Adult); and, Marcelo L. Gusanan (Adult). The nominees for the Organization/ Group Category are DOLE Philippines (Dolefil) (Corporate); Yellow Bus Line (Corporate); Kidapawan City Emergency Response Unit, Inc. (KidCERU) (Non-profit); and, Alamada Multi-Purpose Cooperative (AMPC) (Non-profit). 

The ten nominees have been subjected to a series and rigorous screening and actual field validation by the 2016 SOV Technical Working Group, composed of technical staff from the regional offices of NEDA, CSC, DILG, TESDA, CHED, PIA, and a Private Sector Representative of RDC XII to determine volunteer nominees’ qualification and the impact of their volunteer services to the community.  Based on the results of the validation process, the RSC XII found that all of them have exemplified the ideals of volunteerism in their own right.   Hence, the Committee deemed it proper to forward their credentials to the NSC for possible selection as this year’s outstanding volunteers/volunteer groups. 

It may be noted that Region XII is a consistent producer of national winners of volunteers. The SOV is an annual search being spearheaded by the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA). (Romeo C. Nebrija, NEDA-PFPD)