Koronadal City–Brigadier General Patricio Ruben P. Amata, the new Commander of 1002nd Infantry (Bagwis) Brigade, Philippine Army, paid a courtesy visit to NEDA XII Regional Director Teresita Socorro C. Ramos on May 19, 2023, which was held at the Mt. Matutum Room, NEDA XII Office, Prime Regional Government Center, Koronadal City.

In her opening message, RD Teresita Socorro C. Ramos expressed appreciation for the Brigade Commander’s visit and the Philippine Army’s Bagwis Brigade’s unwavering commitment to the socio-economic development of Region XII. She also added that partnership with the military, as a strategic alliance, is critical to the development of the SOCCSKSARGEN Region.

Although the main purpose of the visit was a courtesy call to the NEDA XII Regional Director, NEDA XII rendered a quick briefing on the highlights of the regional socio-economic situationer, including the SOCCSKSARGEN Regional Development Plan (RDP) 2023-2028, as well as the Regional Spatial Development Framework, the long-term physical blueprint of Region XII which was presented by NEDA XII OIC-ARD Romel Patrick E. Tanghal. Also present during the development briefing were the members of the NEDA XII Management Team (ManTeam).

Brig. Gen. Amata was thankful to NEDA Regional Office XII for the warm welcome and the opportunity to learn about the development plans in the region. He was hoping to leverage this in their operational areas and transform former conflict-affected areas and geographically isolated disadvantaged areas (GIDAs) into progressive communities. The Bagwis Brigade Commander also emphasized the importance of collaboration and convergence among the civilian agencies and the military in achieving the goals of the development plans.

The 1002nd Brigade has under its Area of Responsibility (AOR) approximately 30 percent of the total land area of Region XII comprising the following local government units: Glan, Malungon, Alabel, Malapatan in Sarangani; Tampakan in South Cotabato; Columbio in Sultan Kudarat; and the City of Kidapawan including the Municipalities of Tulunan, Makilala, Magpet, Arakan, President Roxas in Cotabato Province. (Alberto U. Pesodas Jr.,NEDA XII- ORD)