Talomo, Davao City – With four (4) 1st place, one (1) 2nd place, and three (3) 3rd place awards, the National Economic and Development Authority Regional Office (NRO) XII grabbed the 1st runner up of this year’s NEDA Mindanao Productivity Olympics. The annual event attended by 5 NROs in Mindanao was hosted by NRO XI at Mergrande Resort, Talomo, Davao City on September 13-14, 2017.
Undersecretary for Regional Development Adoracion M. Navarro of NEDA Central Office graced the occasion. In her inspirational message, she encouraged everybody to benchmark and forge linkages with other NROs and CO, and be anticipatory with the reorganization. Usec. Navarro inspired everybody to practice sportsmanship during the games.

The activity also featured a Development Forum on the Proposed Bill of Rightsizing the National Government to Improve Public Services and Delivery presented by Director Clotilde Lacsamana-Drapete of Systems and Productivity Improvement Bureau of the Department of Budget and Management.

Governance Staff OIC-Director Thelma C. Manuel of NEDA Central Office also lectured on Strengthening the NEDA Bill. The lecture was followed by a workshop in the afternoon to solicit inputs on the strengthening and rightsizing of the NEDA organization.

Financial, Planning and Management Staff Director Greg L. Pineda was also present during the 2-day event to serve as resource person.

NRO XI headed by Regional Director (RD) Ma. Lourdes D. Lim was declared the overall champion while the NROs from Cagayan de Oro City, Caraga, and Zamboanga Peninsula got the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Runners up, respectively.

The activities and games for this year’s event are the following: Basketball (men); Volleyball (mixed); Badminton (singles and doubles); Table Tennis (doubles – men and women); Obstacle Race; Neo-Ethnic Dance; Cheering; and the Ladandula and Lakambini of the Olympics.

NRO XII was selected to host the next year event. The decision was graciously accepted by NRO XII RD Arturo G. Valero as conveyed by Mr. Guillermo R. Manrique, Jr., head of NRO XII delegation and ONE XII President. (Apollo Y. Manlawe, NEDA XII-DRD)